Engagement, Service and Outreach

Professor Deanna D'Alessandro

Formal Mentoring

  • Mentor for Franklin Women’s Mentoring Program (2021)

  • Mentor for L’Oreal-UNESCO Australia For Women in Science Mentoring Program (2017-2019)

  • SPAM (Strategic Promotion Advice and Mentoring) program for promotion to Levels C and D (2018-present)

  • Mentor for Faculty of Science Mentoring program (2020)

  • Mentor for Sydney Women’s Mentoring program (2017-2018)

  • APD Mentor/Advisor at USyd (2016-present)

Public Lectures

  • Sydney Science Forum Public Lecture “Catch CO2”, University of Sydney (Sept. 2015)

  • Alumni speaker for the National Youth Science Forum Launch of “Science 50:50” with Prof. Veena Sahajwalla (Australian Institute of Sport, Canberra, Jan. 2015)

  • Chemistry Education Association of Victoria November Lectures for high school teachers, Melbourne (Nov. 2013)

  • Ruby Payne Scott Memorial Lecture, Danebank Anglican Girls High School, Sydney (Oct. 2011)

  • Harry Messel International Science School Lecturer, School of Physics, University of Sydney (Jul. 2011)

  • Occasional Speaker, Faculty of Science Graduation Ceremony, University of Sydney (May 2011)

  • Orica black tie dinner speaker, International Year of Chemistry Launch, Great Hall, Parliament House, Canberra (Feb. 2011)

  • Australian Federation of Graduate Women End of Year Lecture, Sydney Mechanics’ School of Arts (Nov. 2010)

  • Alumni speaker for the National Youth Science Forum Rotary Dinner (Australian National University, Canberra, Jan. 2007).

Professional Roles

  • Promotions Committee (Level C-D) – reserve member 2020, core committee member 2021

  • Inaugural Chair, Equity, Diversity & Inclusion (EDI) Committee, School of Chemistry, University of Sydney (2017- 2018)

  • Deputy Head of School of Chemistry, The University of Sydney (2017-2018)

  • Deputy Honours Coordinator, School of Chemistry, The University of Sydney (2017)

  • Elected committee member of Royal Australian Chemical Institute Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Committee (2017-2020)

  • Elected committee member of International Zeolite Association (2018-2024)

Editorial Roles

  • Editorial Board Membership: Chem (Cell Press) (2019-present); Coordination Chemistry Reviews (Elsevier) (2020-present)

  • Associate Editor, Australian Journal of Chemistry (CSIRO Publishing) (Apr. 2018-present). In addition to reviewing tasks, led special issue of Journal (with A/Prof Brendan Abrahams and Prof Stuart Batten) in honour of pioneer in coordination polymer chemistry Prof. Richard Robson).

  • Guest Editor (with A/Prof Brendan Abrahams and Prof Stuart Batten), Special Edition of Chemical Communications on Functional Coordination Frameworks (RSC Publishing) (2020)

  • Guest Editor (with A/Prof Ognjen Miljanic), Special Edition of Supramolecular Chemistry (Taylor & Francis) for ISMSC (2017)

Symposium Coordination and Reviewing

  • International Advisory Board member for 8th International Conference on Metal-Organic Frameworks and Open Framework Materials 2022

  • Co-chair (with Prof. Hoi Ri Moon) for AsCA 2022 Asian Crystallographic Association (AsCA) for microsymposium “Structures and Properties of Functional Materials” (South Korea, Dec. 2022)

  • Organising committee member (with Prof. Jeff Reimers (chair)) for Symposium “From Electron Transfer: From Electrochemistry to Mixed-valence Molecules to Photosynthesis: In memory of the late Prof. Noel Hush”, The International Chemical Congress of Pacific Basin Societies (Pacifichem 2020; Dec. 2020)

  • Pacifichem2020 Symposium Reviewer (Chemistry of Energy Australia Topic reviewer)

  • Organising committee member (with Prof. Shane Telfer (chair)) for 6th International Conference on Metal-Organic Frameworks and Open Framework Materials in Auckland, NZ (MOF2018, Dec. 2018)

  • Co-organiser (with Assist/Prof Hiroaki Iguchi (Tohoku University, Japan), A/Prof Mircea Dinca (MIT, USA), A/Prof Hoi Ri Moon (UNIST, Korea), A/Prof Yumi Yakiyama (Osaka University, Japan), Assist/Prof Wataru Kosaka (Tohoku University, Japan), Assist/Prof Kazuya Otsubo (Kyoto University, Japan), and Assist/Prof Zhongyue Zhang (Nagoya University, Japan) of the session titled "Electron-Conductive/Redox-Active Coordination Polymers" in the 43rd International Conference on Coordination Chemistry, Sendai, Japan (ICCC); Jul.-Aug. 2018)

  • Co-organiser (with Drs Tony Keene, Suzanne Neville and Jon Kitchen) of the Inaugural Southampton-Australia-New Zealand Magnetism Symposium (SANZMAG; Feb. 2014)

  • Organiser of the Inaugural RACI One-Day Student Symposium in Inorganic Chemistry for NSW/ACT (Oct. 2012), Guest of Honour, Professor Harry B. Gray (Caltech)

Other Roles

  • Examiner of PhD theses (10) and Masters theses (2)

  • External panel member for Rita Cornforth Fellowship at the Research School of Chemistry, Australian National University (2017)

  • Referee for a range of chemistry journals (average 2 per month, except during maternity leave)

  • Assessor of competitive grants including those for the Australian Research Council

  • External consultant for the re-bid of the MacDiarmid Research Institute in NZ (2018)

  • Referee for American Australian Association Fellowships (2017-present)

  • President of Sydney University Chemical Society (2015)

  • Foundation for Inorganic Chemistry Honorary Secretary and High School Outreach Coordinator (2012-2015)

  • Coordinator for Nanjing-Sydney International Exchange Program (2013-2014)

  • Science Meets Parliament (2010 representative of the Royal Australian Chemical Institute)

  • Feature Interview for the American Australian Association (2009, https://vimeo.com/2508030)

  • Volunteer for “Exploring Your Horizons” (Mills College, Oakland, USA, 2008) A program encouraging female high school students to pursue science

  • Featured on 2007 ABC series “Ace Day Jobs!”A television/DVD/broadband series featuring young professionals designed to encourage and inspire high school students (see http://www.abc.net.au/acedayjobs/cooljobs/profiles/s2102676.htm)

  • Appointed Justice of the Peace for Queensland (Qualified since 2003)

  • Postgraduate representative of the Royal Australian Chemical Institute Inorganic Chemistry Division (2003-2004)

  • Senior Residential and Academic Tutor, The John Flynn College, James Cook University (2003-2004)

  • Received 2003 Peter Milaras Award for contributions to the Academic Life of the John Flynn College

  • President of the James Cook University Molecular Sciences Society (2003)

  • Postgraduate representative, School of Pharmacy and Molecular Sciences Safety Committee (2002-2003)